National Mall, Washington, D.C.

mall

I think this may be the best run in America: from the Lincoln Memorial along the Reflecting Pool, past the Washington Monument, through the Smithsonian and around the Capitol. It’s about a four mile loop. It’s full of people, like it was this afternoon, when I took this picture.

It’s also got history at practically every turn, like the World War II Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial and one of my favorites: an engraving on the spot where Martin Luther King Jr. spoke on the steps of Lincoln Memorial in 1963.

dream

It also seems seems like every time I’m here there’s some kind of construction project to look at on the Mall. These days they’re repairing the Washington Monument after a 2011 earthquake.

But the best part: Minnesota was bracing for more than a foot of snow and on the National Mall, the sun was shining, it was 56 degrees and I could run outside in shorts and a T-shirt. It’s my first miles away from a treadmill since Dec. 1.  It’s just the third week of February, but I could feel spring coming today.

Leave a comment